Spring, Running, and Zombies…..a review.

Since we had an unusually warm winter spring has come sooner than expected, which means I’m running on the road sooner than expected. I’ve had just the running app to test out since then that I must admit is pretty cool. It’s called Zombies, Run! and is available in the app store. They’re currently working on an android version now. This app started out as a kickstarter, but I got in on the pre-order after I read a blog post about it.

Now, I’m not a huge zombie fan, but I love the idea of the gamification of running. Sure, many apps out there try to get you to get your friends to join and compete against each other, but that’s putting it back on me to talk their app up. What I love about this is that I can get started right away, no cajoling required.

I wish I had read the deeper instructions beforehand or had this piece included in the tutorial, but most missions are 20-30 minutes long. I didn’t know this going in and realized that I was way beyond my turn-back point in my run. Not a bad thing, but I would love to set a midpoint time that tells me to head on back. I hear they’re working on audio cues for time, so I’m happy to hear this should be resolved soon.

Also good to know is that if you have the GPS enabled, you can take part in zombie chases, which are basically sprints up to 1 min against a pack of zombies. The faster the beeping, the closer they are, so it’s a great way to get an interval in there.

Basically the gist of the run is story -> song -> story, repeat. The quality of the story voices is great. It’s got a Jericho-ish feeling to it (no, I haven’t seen Walking Dead yet, although I’ve already been told I need to), but I really wish the quality of the voice while the music is playing (the one that tells me I’ve picked up an item) was better. No matter how far I turn up the volume it doesn’t seem to improve. I’m sure that’s also on the way – Runkeeper made great improvements on their voice in their later revs, I’m sure they can do the same.

When you get home, you can allocate the supplies you picked up into different areas of the compound and build it up. I’m interested to see where this goes. They’ve also slated improvements such as RunKeeper integration, celebrity voices, and other fun things, but I have to say at first blush this app is pretty great. I’ll spend anything to keep my running habit up!

Leave a Reply

