I’m a spoiled adult learner.

INSDSG 602 – Class 3

Those of you who wish I would post more, you’re in luck. Part of my participation grade for the 602 class is to post in my blog about what I’m learning about. For those of you who loved my rant about discussion boards, this is actually an idea I can get behind…mostly because it feels more honest and less doing it for the sake of doing it. Maybe it will even get me back into blogging more frequently.

However, I am a tad behind in my posting duties for class because I won a scholarship to visit Dreamforce and I was out in CA all last week. So, I’m still playing catch up, forgive me.

So why do I call myself spoiled? Because I have to take the one in person class this semester and I had it easy all last year. I have to drive 3 hours round trip to “scenic” Dorchester every week as opposed to doing my classes in my pyjamas. I had to – gasp – buy real books instead of digital Kindle editions. I have to talk to people (well, that’s never a problem).

My point is, the study of andragogy, or adult learning, shows how different adult learners are from children. They have different motivations, they are coming from a different frame of mind, they work differently. We did an exercise in class the week before describing adult learners, which the prof put into a Wordle word cloud. The larger the word, the more frequently it showed up.

Wordle: Adult Learner

There’s lots of theories about how adults learn, even those which look like they’re stolen from J.K. Rowling (I’m looking at you, Illeris), but I think what stuck out to me is that we have a long way to go in our study of andragogy. Education has been around for centuries, but adult learning has only had a few decades of research. It’s also very tied to the American baby boom, as that was the first generation to create a formal need for adult learning. We see learning in general expanding from the silos of LMSs into the open world, and I think the theories around adult learning will spread out as time goes by.

And when it comes down to it, if I really want this degree, I have to be all those things that an adult learner needs to be. Motivated, experienced, self directed. I guess I can suck it up a little.

Leave a Reply

