“I don’t know how I became the de-facto ‘Gangnam Style’ guy.”

Hands up for long weekends! The Mr had Columbus Day off and I took a PTO to extend our weekend. It’s amazing how much an extra day can affect a weekend. I finally got the FRC Firehose splash site up and running – I highly recommend that you check it out. I’ll do a separate post on that process later.

We also finally hit the milestone of finishing The Year of Weddings. We had five weddings this summer, two of which the Mr was the Best Man and two in which I was a bridesmaid. The wedding before this last one I was traveling the entire week before. Apparently, the Mr was bored enough that he learned the Gangnam Style dance while I was gone. The quote that became the title of the post occurred after he was cajoled to perform it at the latest wedding. I have a feeling this is going to become just as reoccurring as  kids requesting Hanson at robot competitions just to irritate him. If you really want to see it, here it is:

*Note: I have absolutely no idea who the other dancing guy was.

Grad school is totally kicking my butt right now. I don’t know what’s so different about this semester vs the last ones, but it definitely feels different. It could be because I’m schlepping down to Dorchester for class on a weekly basis, or that the online course is far more involved than any other online course, but I feel like I’m constantly playing catch up. Last week we discussed behavioral learning – aka carrot and stick. I somehow got most focused on a quote from the book that touched upon how behaviorism was the original basis for No Child Left Behind, which then got skewed in the implementation down to the state level in that they felt that NCLB was all stick, no carrot. I don’t know if the rest of the class got my observation (by replacing the learner as the most granular with the school in this case), but I still think it’s an interesting piece to think about. Additionally, we did a behavioral piece where my ridiculously competitive side shone like the beacon that it is. We won, so that’s all that matters. 🙂

Leave a Reply

